Friday, September 29, 2006

IBMA Award Winners for 2006...

As you're probably aware, the International BG Music Association (IBMA) held their annual Awards Show last night. While I didn't get to attend the ceremony this year (held at Nashville's Grand Ole Opry House), nor did I get to hear the live broadcast on XM Satellite Radio, the folks who run the Bluegrass Blog posted all the award winners on their site as the ceremony was going on. If you'd like to read their terrific blog, please click here.

If you'd just like to know who won what, read on:

Song of the Year: "Look Down That Lonesome Road" - Tim O'Brien
Instrumental Group of the Year: Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder
Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: "He Lives In Me" - Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Emerging Artists of the Year: The Steep Canyon Rangers
Recorded Event of the Year: "Back To The Well" - The Daughters Of Bluegrass
Banjo Player of the Year: Jim Mills
Dobro Player of the Year: Rob Ickes
Fiddle Player of the Year: Michael Cleveland
Female Vocalist of the Year: Rhonda Vincent
Bass Player of the Year: Missy Raines
Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton
Vocal Group of the Year: Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Mandolin Player of the Year: Adam Steffey
Male Vocalist of the Year: Tim O'Brien
Instrumental Recording of the Year: "Let 'Er Go, Boys!" - Michael Cleveland
Album of the Year: Various Artists - "Celebration Of Life: Musicians Against Childhood Cancer"
Entertainers of the Year: The Grascals

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees! If you'd like to read the official Awards announcement from IBMA, click here. If you'd like to see how the Nashville Tennessean newspaper covered this event, click here.


No comments: